top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebra Berry

Five Reasons to Move Outside Your Comfort Zone


There is something to be said about having routines and habits. For instance, driving home from work the same way every day may be more time efficient and predictable.


For over 20 years my spouse left for work at the same time every morning,traveled the same route, and arrived home at the end of the day at the same time. This was his comfort zone, safe and predictable.


I, on the other hand, would leave for work somewhere within a 15 to 20 minute time span, take different routes home, and depending on the route I took home arrive somewhere within a 30 minute time span. My comfort zone was less predictable, and I always enjoyed stretching it.


What is a comfort zone? I believe our comfort zone encompasses biological, psychological, social, and even spiritual components. In our comfort zone we experience lower levels of stress and anxiety and we are required to make less decisions. For many individuals, their comfort zone provides a sense of safety and security.


Three years ago, I decided I needed to step out of my comfort zone. Within weeks, I found myself traveling alone through Italy. Now at least for me, that was a big step out. I have also done smaller steps like taking belly dance lessons or singing alone in front of a crowd. Even telling people I am blogging was out of my comfort zone.


I believe in order to continue our growth and development, we need to move beyond our comfort zone. Here is five reason, with examples, to take a step, no matter how big or how small, outside of your comfort zone:


  1. Increase your knowledge in a specific area, like learning how to paint or play an instrument

  2. Experience something new and different, try a new food or wear something that feels outrageous.

  3. Obtain a broader sense of understanding, study a different culture or religion.

  4. Gain a deeper sense of appreciation and gratitude, spend time in nature or pray more.

  5. Feel a sense of accomplishment, lose weight or run a marathon.


Moving outside of your comfort zone will bring some anxiety and stress and require more decisions. But you can do it! I believe in you. So, stretch yourself, breath, have fun, and go for it. Expand your comfort zone!


15 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page