top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebra Berry

Home: November 28, 2021

Old Endings Bring New Beginnings

This little guy to the left is "Rainbow." One of my grandson, Henry's, "sutffies." He sent Rainbow with me, to Bar Harbor, to travel with me and keep me safe. He was my travel companion, and he watched over me. After four long months, Rainbow is back home with Henry, and I am back home in Grand Rapids.


Gee but it's great to be back home! Home is were I want to be! There's no place like home! Sound familiar? I do love to travel, however I do love to come back home! I miss family and friends, by own bed, and even my own cooking.


I was gone from home for four months. It was a great adventure, it had it's ups and downs with some fun and sometimes challenging encounters. I appreciated the opportunity of many new experiences and meeting some new life long friends.


I profoundly felt a new connection to nature and the awe of The Creator and Creation. I remembered how important being with my children, grand-children and friends are to me. I was challenged with the physical demands of the work and of living with strangers. The good news is some of those strongers are new forever friends.


Many people have asked me if I would do it again. My response has been, "I don't know." It was a kind of a "bucket list" thing. However, I am not ready to commit to another season, at least not for four months, and I am not ready to say never again.


I have been "nesting" as a friend labeled the past few weeks for me. I have been cleaning and rearranging my home. I have rested and slept as long as I liked. I slowly reconnected with friends. I even began to work again locally. I am now feeling like my life is back into some kind of routine and with a bit of purpose. However, I am also starting to think about my next adventure and a what I want to experience.

Jenna, my grand-daughter, has asked me since the age of four, if I would take her to Hawaii. We agreed, when she graduated from high school, we would make that trip. My daughter, Stephanie, even decided to join in, it would be "The Berry Women's Adventure!" Jenna is now a Junior in high school and has recently asked if the trip to Hawaii could become a trip to Europe. I have about eighteen months before that adventure begins.


I had planned to go to Greece for my seventh birthday. Well, the pandemic put a pause on that trip. Who knows? Maybe that adventure will happen in the near future. Maybe it will be for my seventy-fifth celebration.


Thanksgiving reminds me to pause, to reflect, and to be grateful.


Thanksgiving is also a time for me to begin thinking about plans for my next adventure and how I want to "show up" in the new year.


Here are some of my early thoughts about my next adventures:

  • A river cruise in Europe visiting the Christmas markets.

  • A visit to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park to experience the synchronous fireflies.

  • A trip ti see "Dignity" near Chamberlin, South Dakota, then continuing on to visit Grand Teton National Park.

  • Volunteering for the the Kent County Democratic Party

  • Creating a virtual group as a resource and support for the terminally ill and their families.

  • Creating a virtual group related to creating and planning your next adventure.

  • Continuing to work on the two books I have started and/or starting a blog/group around the subjects of the books.

  • My list is to be continued . . . .

My thoughts about how I want to "show up" or to be:

  • Be Kind

  • Be Joyful

  • Be Grateful

  • Be of Service

  • Be Vulnerability and Authentic

  • Be Connected and Engaged

  • Be Discerning

This ends my Bar Harbor Adventure . . . at leat for 2021 and the unfolding of new beginnings. Thank you for following along and keeping me company. I look forward to connecting with you soon. In the meantime . . .


I wish you great adventures!


Love from Grand Rapids xoxoxo


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page