top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebra Berry

Bar Harbor: July 24,2021



Day off! The temperature today is 74 degrees with a gentle cool breeze coming off Frenchman Bay. What shall do on this cloudless sky blue day? Easy answer girl, head to Acadia National Park.




So off I go. The Village Green is right across from where I live. It is also the area where I can pick up the Island Explorer, the bus that travels from Bar Harbor to the park for free.



I decided to walk the Jordan Pond Full Loop trail in the park. This trail is described as an easy 3.5 mile easy family stroll on a paved path, mostly level, and takes about one to two hours to complete. I thought it would be perfect for me, so I began this journey.

I walked down the hill toward the pond and paused for a moment, already mesmerized by this magnificent creation and beauty. There is just no picture that can capture the beauty that has been created here. This picture is looking out towards “The Bubbles,” the two side by side mountain peaks.

Looking out on the water, I see the sparkling reflection of the sun on the water making rippling diamonds dance across the pond. The birds are sailing against the glittering leaves in the distance and there are a few loons on the pond. I will definitely come back later in the fall when the trees' leaves have turned color, and the sun beams down on them creating nature’s kaleidoscope of color.

It is a pretty easy truck around this path, however I have to keep one eye looking down on the ground because I never know when the gnarly twisted roots of the trees are going to pop up or some little rocks pop through the earth. I also have to keep my eye out for gaps where the earth has been washed away by the water trickling down from higher elevations. Some of them are several inches deep.

I met Cora and her family along the path. Cora and her family iare from California. They made the trip to Maine by car in just seven days. Cora’s family said she was pretty tired, so they needed to “paws” for a rest. I am fascinated by all the dogs here with visitors, I don't quite understand bringing your dog on vacation but more about that later.

My senses are overwhelmed. The sounds of birds singing overhead, the gentle tingling as the lap of the waves tap the rocky shore, and every now and then I get whiffs of balsam. As I walk this path, it amazes me how all these rocks are stacked one on top of another and seemingly stable. The formation of these stacks reminds me of playing Jenga.

A couple of months ago, in one of my blog posts, I wrote about people being in such a hurry especially when driving. I asked myself then, “Where is everybody going in such a hurry?” I find myself asking the same question again as I saunter along. At times people are rushing by me like there is a prize waiting for them at the end of the path. It’s just so beautiful and peaceful here, I want to amble along and drink in the majestic creation around me. Fortunately for me, there are times I am alone on parts of the path.




Oh my gosh, look what I just came upon! It’s called a “rock scramble,” and two of three I maneuvered. If I had started out in the opposite direction, I would have turned around and gone back. Good news, my knees held out, and I only went down once. I made it through all three sets of the scrambles. I am quite sure I was surrounded by my community of guardian angels and perhaps several other family and friend angels looking out for me. It was a wok out. Just a reminder to me, my knees and balance are not what they used to be. I did it, even though it made me uncomfortable, I did it. Will I do it again? That remains to be seen.

Do I look like I am exhausted? I was a soaking mess.



Finally, the narrow boardwalk comes into sight. The boardwalk is about a 1.3 mile long narrow walk with “passing lanes.” I knew once I hit the boardwalk I was getting near the end of this little adventure. I finished the hike in about two and one half hours, not bad for a 70 year old out of shape woman.


I did it!

I don’t think I’ll be doing any big hiking trips through the park. Those rock scrambles were tough and minor compared to others I have read and heard about. I have also been warned about the heights on most of the trails, and I do not like heights or narrow paths and drop offs. I like to think I am a bit of an adventurer, however I do have my limits.

I will definitely be out in the park. It is just too amazing and beautiful to not experience all, or at least most, of what it has to offer.


Oh by the way, I rewarded myself when I returned to Bar Harbor with a trip to Ben and Bill’s Chocolate Emporium. This is the place that features lobster ice cream. It is a very rich butter flavored ice cream with chopped lobster meat folded into the ice cream. The lovely lady who took my order insisted on a double scoop, and yes, I ate the whole thing!



Love from Baa Haabor xoxoxo!


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page