top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDebra Berry

Bar Harbor: June 29 & 30, 2021

Updated: Jul 1, 2021

Hi Friends!


I left Grand Rapids on Sunday, June 27th and headed for my adventures in Bar Harbor (BH), ME. I spent my first night out in Batavia, NY, second night in Concord, NH and arrived in Bar Harbor around 5:00 PM on day three. It's been so hot and humid. In Concord, when I arrived it was 98 degrees and felt like 102. Other than the heat, travel was long but uneventful.


I stopped in Kennebunkport, ME at The Clam Shack for America's

best lobster roll.


Parking in BH is crazy, I spent a good 30 minutes trying to find a place to park at a meter, which was still a good 10 minute walk to where I would be working and living. After I got checked in and access to my living quarters (my pod), I looked for more permanent parking. I have a BH parking permit, however I am still a good 10 minute walk from my car to my my pod, and I have to move my car at least every 72 hours. I did two walks from my car to my pod hauling suitcases, backpacks, etc. Finally, around 10:00 PM, I was able to bring my car closer to my pod and finish unloading, then everything went up two flights of stairs. By the end of all this, I was a red faced, sweaty, panting, heart racing, exhausted, old single broad. Thank goodness only may new roomie saw me, and she was kind enough not to comment.

This is my pod. I share it with one other person. We each have a room and share a bathroom. There is another pod we share a kitchenette with. Needless to say, I crashed for the night in my new little corner of BH. Unpacking can happen tomorrow.


After spending the morning unpacking and creating my space in my pod, it was time to get some groceries. A 10 minute walk with my insulated backpack and another insulated bag, and off I go. I had to be cautious not to purchase what would not fit in my bags and could carry it back to my pod. Success, it all fit and was manageable! The fun part was a storm rolling in and trying to beat the rain. Where was my umbrellas, in car of course, a

10 minute walk the other way.


I beat the storm back to my pod! Looks like most of the rest of the day will be stormy, however it's a cool 75 degrees now. Tomorrow I start work. Stay tuned to more BH adventures. Until then . . .


Wishing you all a happy healthy summer!










119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page